NYKY En­sem­ble and Li­isa Pentti +Co: Re­f2022

This interdisciplinary artistic collaboration between Sibelius Academy’s NYKY Ensemble and Liisa Pentti +Co dance group, is a reproduction of Liisa's work “Ref2020” and a live adaptation of Brian Eno’s "Reflection", a performative concept by Liisa Pentti and Libero Mureddu

"Reflection" is an electronic generative piece for which there is no code available. Libero wanted the piece to maintain its generative nature, allowing the music to be different in each performance. For this, we had to "reverse engineer" what we could hear from the recordings in terms of musical content and the way it was organised.

Jaakko Kilpeläinen and I worked together on transcribing and arranging the music. Jaakko orchestrated the musical fragments and I worked on recreating the generative system and the software for the performance.

I used Cycling '74 Max software to recreate the system. This system chooses the musical fragments to be played real time by the players, who receive the score on their iPads.

With the help of Alejandro Olarte, teacher at the Sibelius Academy in Music Technology, we developed the part of the code that sends the score to the players using DRAWSOCKET platform, developed by Rama Gottfried and Georg Hajdu at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater Hamburg, Germany.





Performers and working group

Performance concept: Liisa Pentti and Libero Mureddu

Arrangement concept, coaching of music, programming of synthesizers and spatialisation: Libero Mureddu

Arrangement and transcription of music: Esther Calderón Morales and Jaakko Kilpeläinen

Orchestration: Jaakko Kilpeläinen

Orchestration coaching: Juhani Nuorvala

Software programming: Esther Calderón Morales and Alejandro Olarte

Live-electronics: Esther Calderón Morales

Music technology coaching: Alejandro Olarte

Consultant: Josué Moreno

Sound engineer: Marko Myöhänen

NYKY Ensemble, music: Cliodhna Scott (flute),Ita Nagode (saxophone), Ilta Attila (saxophone), Tiia Toivanen (percussion), Sesili Saneblidze (violin), Tamar Gvazava (viola), Tomass Ančs (cello), Anders Hellesund (double bass), Mariia Maselska (keyboards), Iivari Aalto (keyboards), Troels Lorenz (accordion), Esther Calderón Morales (live-electronics)

Choreography and dance direction: Liisa Pentti

Liisa Pentti +Co, dance: Ronja Syvälahti, Corinne Mustonen, Pinja Poropudas, Satu Rekola, Kardo Shiwan, Katri Soini

Lighting design: Ina Niemelä

Light technician: Jukka Kolimaa

Costume design: Tua Helve





Necesitamos su consentimiento para cargar las traducciones

Utilizamos un servicio de terceros para traducir el contenido del sitio web que puede recopilar datos sobre su actividad. Por favor revise los detalles en la política de privacidad y acepte el servicio para ver las traducciones.